top of page
Search
  • milarvandesal

Amazon Basics Wireless Trackball Mouse

Use the Windows settings to adjust the speed of your mouse. Also, this mouse has a "DPI" button that you can toggle on and off to go between "slow" and "fast".


I've had similar problems in the past with a couple of different mice from different manufacturers. It depends on the operating system you use. Windows 10: In the Control Panel, there should be something for Mouse settings. This will bring up 'Mouse Properties' with multiple tabs of different options. Under the third tab 'Pointer Options' there is a scroll bar for the pointer speed.


Adjust to your liking. Otherwise, Google "Adjusting pointer/mouse speed" along with the current operating system. Should be able to point you in the right direction. I found it also helped not only slowing the speed down in the control panel but deselecting or unchecking the enhanced precision box as well. The size and shape are very similar.



I think the Amazon Basics Wireless Trackball Mouse is more comfortable for me because the surface near the trackball is more rounded. The Basics mouse has a more square edge. At times, it makes arthritis in my thumb feel worse. You might want to look at the new Logitech ergo trackball. It's more money, but it is flatter and also has a way to angle tilt. I haven't used it yet, but I've been using trackballs exclusively since 1996, so I feel your frustration.

Get review:

For years (not going to admit how many), I have been using Windows built-in "Mouse Acceleration," which in the control panel is labeled as "Enhance pointer precision". When you check this box, if you move the mouse slowly, it moves accurately; if you move quickly, and acceleration is applied so the cursor moves quickly.


This allows both fine control as well as rapid movements to click on things like open dialog boxes. For various reasons, I frequently switch between mice on different computers. I usually use a trackball. My laptop uses a trackpad, but "palm strike" is a serious problem, so I decided to try the Amazon mouse. It's a great mouse, reasonably priced, but suffers from the problem that seems to be a central part of Amazon culture:


THEY make the decisions for you. Ever tried searching for something and noticed a lot of spurious things in your search, and the one thing that you know exists doesn't show up? Either their search algorithms are terrible, OR they show you the things THEY want you to see. (That sounded paranoid, but it's just business). This mouse is the same way. It took me a while to figure it out, but basically, the mouse has the acceleration built-in.


After all, you apparently don't know how to control the mouse, and someone probably complained "it moves too slow" so the mouse does the acceleration for you. Even if you don't want it. If you have the control panel already set to 'enhance pointer precision your mouse will zoom around like Speedy Gonzales. ¡Arriba, Arriba! ¡Ándale, Ándale! It's quite discomforting.


So, if this is the only mouse you have, AND you like pointer acceleration, by all means, consider this mouse. If you would rather be in control of your own user experience, pass this mouse up. It's why I'm giving it four stars instead of five. The inclusion of a working battery is a nice touch. Again, it's well constructed, has a good hand feel (unlike my new Logitech MX Ero mouse), and seems well constructed.


If the hardware didn't implement its own ideas of what I like, I'd be very happy with it. My Logitech M570 dramatically fell out of my backpack at JFK from the 2nd floor down to the 1st. Very scary event but luckily no one got hurt. The bad thing is the only remaining whole part of my M570 is the tracking ball. I have to stick with such a trackball mouse due to my tunnel syndrome and watched an online video clip in which the reviewer mentioned the size of the tracking ball mouse is standard at 1.34".


In order to save some money and partly out of curiosity about the Amazon Basics Wireless Trackball Mouse product line, I chose it. It works well for me with the feeling of being lightweight in the palm of my hand. Because of the actual trackball, I found some accuracy issues. This has been solved by the original Logitech Blue Trackball. I think Amazon has chosen a low-cost trackball instead of a good quality one.

Product model:

Connectivity Technology: Wireless.

Brand: Amazon Basics.

Movement Detection Technology: Trackball.

Color: Black.

Number of Buttons: 3.

About Amazon Basics Wireless Trackball Mouse

item:

  • Wireless trackball mouse for desktop or laptop computers

  • 2.4 GHz (non-Bluetooth) wireless connection provides a quick response with no lag

  • The smooth-rolling trackball feature gives you expert control and alleviates hand and wrist strain

  • Includes top scrolling dial, programmable buttons, and right and left-click mouse buttons


  • Wireless range of up to 30 feet; great for group gaming, presentations, and more

  • Compatible with Windows 7, 8, 10, Mac OS 10.11, 10.12, 10.13, and above. Note that the provided connector is USB-A, if your device only supports USB-C an additional adapter will be required.

Update:

If you press down on the scroll wheel/middle button, the cursor will change from an arrow to something that looks like a D-Pad on a game controller. This means that the trackball is locked into "scrolling" mode. It scrolls both vertically and horizontally until you press the scroll wheel/middle button again. That would depend on lots of factors. Using an office for 8 hours a day doing regular office work would be a lot different if you're using it 8 hours a day doing graphic design or even gaming. Also, the type of batteries can be a factor. I will say I've had mine since January 23 and I use it for moderate office work and I haven't had to change batteries.


If you want to know about this product, please click here...




22 views0 comments

댓글


bottom of page